Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid of the Watts Writers' Workshop stories, lesson books, and other material 0177
0177  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (54.94 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
 
Table of contents What's This?
Description
The Watts Writers’ Workshop was founded in 1965 by Budd Schulberg. This collection contains clippings about the workshop and works by Jimmie Sherman, one of the Workshop’s members.
Background
The Watts Writers' Workshop (also known as the South Central Writers Workshop: Douglass House), was founded in 1965 by novelist Budd Schulberg in the aftermath of the Watts Riots. Funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Workshop was housed in the Douglass House, which served as a meeting space and housing for some of the workshop members. Jimmie Sherman (b. 1941), was a workshop member. The Workshop still meets sporadically, while the Harlem-based Frederick Douglass Center for the Creative Arts, the Workshop's Eastern offshoot, is a vibrant organization.
Extent
0.5 Linear feet 1 box
Restrictions
The collection contains published materials; researchers are reminded of the copyright restrictions imposed by publishers on reusing their articles and parts of books. It is the responsibility of researchers to acquire permission from publishers when reusing such materials. The copyright to unpublished materials belongs to the heirs of the writers. Permission to publish, quote, or reproduce must be secured from the repository and the copyright holder.
Availability
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE. Advance notice required for access.